The Shed Roof Project – part 1…

I have a bit of a thing about sheds. There’s something very pleasing about their proportions, maybe it’s a ghost of my childhood love of doll’s houses. Anyway, earlier this year it became apparent that my green shed roof was in serious danger of bringing the whole shed down in a crumpled heap of bricks and ivy. It looked so beautiful though!

snowy garden
ivy clad shed

And the first thing I want to say is, I had been seduced by how it looked. Don’t be fooled by beauty when it comes to property! If it’s unsound – and you own it – it isn’t beautiful. It will cost you money and invite so much unwanted advice that you will wish you’d never raised the subject.

Most people want to make money from their property when they sell and being romantic about it is like saying you don’t care about your investment. It doesn’t matter in the slightest if ivy is a wonderful food source for wildlife – if your shed is like a swamp inside (and believe me, mine was – I put an old school bag of my son’s out there and within a month, it was covered in mildew) its a waste of usable space and you need to reclaim it from the plant – or the neglect – that is strangling it.

Ivy is a thug, if you don’t keep it well trimmed it will choke everything, plants, buildings and gateways. My added problem is that the ivy ‘bush’ (more like constrictor) was owned by my neighbour, so I had to pluck up the courage and go and talk to someone I had never met (the ivy comes from the garden behind mine) and tell him I wanted to ‘kill’ his plant!

He was surprisingly nice about it actually and said that nothing had been done to the ivy for about 30 years! Thirty years is a long time not to maintain something and as I’ve owned the house for two years now, there was nothing I could do but what I had planned – remove and replace the shed roof. So right there, I had the task of replacement and the neglect had not been mine.

removing the ivy

Richard got up there with a hand saw and ripped that massive plant apart. My job was to cart away the rubbish…

Nine trips to the dump later – and that was just the ivy, not the roof covering – we had to stop because Richard was due to have surgery on his shoulder…and this was heavy work. Sheer dogged determination, it was a horrible job and right at that moment I was so annoyed with the people who had owned the house before me. How could they have done nothing to keep that ivy in check?

To be continued…

12 thoughts on “The Shed Roof Project – part 1…

  1. Pingback: cordless drill flashlight

  2. hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this
    web site, since I experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could get it to load properly.

    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can
    look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content.
    Make sure you update this again very soon.

    Like

  3. Generally I do not read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do so!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite nice post.

    Like

  4. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this
    informative article together. I once again find myself
    personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

